Update of the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA

With notice The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) updated the “Electronic System for Travel Authorization” (ESTA) and modified the scope of the system by adding Somalia, Libya and Yemen to the list of countries of concern for heightened ESTA enhancement questions and included an additional data element.

The purpose of that step is to assist DHS and the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) in determining eligibility to travel under the Visa Waiver Program and identify ESTA applicants who may pose a security risk to the United States. The updated system was effective June 16, 2016.

Nevertheless DHS will accept and consider comments from the public and evaluate the need for any revisions to this notice.

Best regards
und viele Grüße aus Charlotte
Reinhard von Hennigs